I Wrote Thirty Articles in Thirty Days

This is what I’ve discovered.

Helen Redfern
3 min readMay 2, 2022
Image by Helen Redfern.

I don’t want to fall into the trap of writing about writing on Medium but I know there is a lot of interest out there for beginners as you grapple with an unfamiliar, and perhaps intimidating platform. I was inspired and encouraged by articles like these in the beginning so this is my attempt to pass it on and hopefully inspire another group of newbies.

My Medium journey started properly in March 2022. In April I decided to write thirty articles in thirty days as I was so intimidated and unconfident on this platform.

What I learned and discovered:

  1. My intimidation on this platform has now decreased. Dramatically so. My confidence is also up a little and I don’t get nervous when I’m publishing my article. As I said in my update article I’ve concluded that this is my space on the internet and I can write whatever I want.
  2. I enjoy writing a large number of articles and would like this to continue. I enjoy being challenged to come up with ideas and it gives me a sense of achievement when pressing that publish button. Something that is missing from my book writing because it’s a much longer process.
  3. Writing about topics I wouldn’t normally write about is a wonderful feeling. It is freeing because it helps with…

--

--

Helen Redfern

Notebook addict, writer and mentor. Helping creatives struggling with confidence around their writing and creativity. helenredfernwriter.com