Why I’m publishing 30 articles in 30 days

Helen Redfern
3 min readApr 6, 2022

It’s probably not for the reasons you’re thinking.

Medium is a newish platform for me. It’s a busy site, I know very few writers on here and if I’m honest I’m a little bit intimidated. My skills writing shorter articles are a little rusty after focusing on my non-fiction books for so long, I’m not especially adept in writing interesting headlines and I’m also not in the habit of writing articles consistently.

Which is why I’ve decided to write thirty articles in thirty days. It’s not to gain more followers or to make more money. It’s not in the hope one of those articles goes viral — I have, after all, fear of success. It’s for a number of other reasons:

To become less terrified

This is the first and possibly biggest reason. The more I write, the more I publish, the smaller that pit of anxiety will become in my tummy. I can remember the first time I sent out a newsletter to my subscribers a number of years ago. It was a nerve-racking experience. My cursor would hover on that chimp image for some time until I bottled it and went back to the newsletter to quadruple-check I’d done everything correctly. I’d start the process again until, utterly frustrated with myself, I closed my eyes and clicked send.

--

--

Helen Redfern

Notebook addict, writer and mentor. Helping creatives struggling with confidence around their writing and creativity. helenredfernwriter.com